My Journey - 17

My Journey - 17

I Turned 18

·

5 min read

So i just turned 18 yesterday(5th Aug 2022). I wanted to share what all things i did and learned during this pandemic-2yrs.

As we all know that we all had to isolate ourselves in our house. Genuinely speaking after my 10th board exams i used to play pubg and other games with friends and binge youtube or any series which my friends would suggest. This is what i did between Mar 2020 - Sept 2020.

And obviously i got bored doing the same shit everyday, then i started exploring many things.

I remember i listened to a whole podcast for the first time in Nov 2020. I used watch/ listen to Beerbicep’s podcast a lot. And that’s where my real exploration began. Normally I was an open minded kid without having any sort of biases. Listening to Beerbicep’s podcast gave me so much knowledge about other people’s life, perspectives & opinions.

And during this time(Nov) i really liked cooking. Till date i help my mom in kitchen and i absolutely love doing that.

In Dec 2020, My dad explained me what stock market is in a very basic level. And as curious kid i deep dived into knowing what stock market is all about. I literally attended free seminars and watched stock market courses of 2-3hrs.

Speaking of Stock market i was mainly fascinated by Technical analysis concepts. I learned technical analysis in youtube and many other free courses and started applying in real stock market charts. At this point i was just doing paper trading nothing much. I remember i learned technical analysis(TA) in just 2-3weeks or so(started learning TA on Feb 28, 2021). And my first trade in stock market was on Mar 19th, 2021(with real money, borrowed from my dad).I made my first huge profit of rs.1,300 with leverage on July 9th, 2021. But if go on and speak about what all learned in trading in stock market, it would take another topic but long story shorts i made few profits as well as losses and on july i made many losses then i quite doing that for obvious reasons - i was young and i only wanted to explore and didn’t wanted to do this for long term.

Finally on my 17th Birthday, i found a tool on internet called Figma. Figma really changed my life. On Aug 6th,2021 i saw some tutorials on youtube of Figma. I used to watch the tutorial and design same exact design as in the tutorial. Gradually i started designing poster, web pages, apps by mixing & taking inspiration from many other designs. In Aug i made a real estate facebook ad post for my brother(he was a digital marketer). And to be honest my designs were really attractive. I did my first ever freelance work on Oct 3 and i received Rs.250 for designing a business card for my client, after that the same client gave me Rs.150 to design another post. I used to be very active on linkedin and apply for almost all Graphic designing & Ui designing internships. I got more than 10+ offer to join as intern (all paid ones only).But i couldn’t join any because of my exams in 12th standard.

Now here’s where the exam phase comes. Between Dec 2021 - Mar 2022 i only studied and did nothing. Obviously i used to listen to podcast, read articles & explore many other things. I forgot to mention earlier that during learning technical analysis on stock market, i discovered new technologies like Artificial Intelligence, Data science, Machine learning. Because i had an idea to automate and predict stock market charts.

I already had an eye on Coding in generally and new age technologies related to that.

On Mar 23, 2022 i started learning web development by following a roadmap. started off with html,css & js very basic stuffs. In just a month i completed learning web development with projects and concepts as well.

in May, i got an internship as a UI/UX Designer in a retail company known as Dusminute - a Series A startup with $1.1mil funding. The work culture and the person who hired me were really sweet and supportive. I did many mistakes still they supported and talked very politely with me. But unfortunately i had to leave the company because of my time issues and other things. My stipend was Rs. 6000/per month.

Between Mar - June 2022 I learned and did soooo many things in coding. I learned ReactJS, CSS frameworks like Tailwind, Bootstrap. I made 20+ projects in html, css & js and ReactJS. In the month of April i learned Solidity and made few small projects. I was into crypto and Web3 starting from Jan 2021 and got to about may thing in crypto and web3, starting from dogecoin to learning about new projects in crypto ecosystem.

In July i started learning Data structures & Algorithms because it was very important to enter in tech/coding world. I started solving some problems of Binary search. Till date i know Java, Github, Linear & Binary search, Bubble Selection Insertion Cycle, Merge, Quick Sort, Strings & Stringbuilders, Recursion, Time & space complexities, Bitwise operator + Maths for DSA, Backtracking and now i’m learning Object Oriented Programing. I know still lot to learn. Also i’m trying contributing to open source.

So yeah…. this is new me, 2yrs internet changed my reality & changed my perspective of the world. Tbh i didn’t explain every single thing what all i learned because i literally learned manyyyy things. I’m happy that i explored and I was genuinely curious about the world and how it works.

But mostly i’m grateful for being privileged for having great parents and environment. This is all possible because my environment and people around me nothing else.

I’M GRATEFUL:)